top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUmang Shankar

What makes your life's decisions?

Updated: Apr 14, 2018

So many times we are stuck in the lurch, trying to find our way out of the aridity of the thoughts, trying to reason out of an unreasonable situations and eventually making decisions based on facts, emotions and support.


Many times those decisions bear fruits, and the other times they leave you with a dry harvest.

So we are left with the question - " What makes your life's decisions?".


Here is my take at what makes mine's?.

What makes your decisions?
What makes your decisions?

1. Do what you know best

When in doubt stick to basics.

This metaphor is not my brainchild, but I happened to be there when it was delivered by an elderly seer in a congregation of nomads, and has stuck to me ever since. How it has worked for me? - For me the concept of sticking to basics is not necessarily giving it up and chase an elusive dream, but is knowing what has worked for you in the past. Again, take your historical data and look for an endeavor that was most satisfying.


2. Listen to friends

You are the average of 5 closest friends you have.

It is important to have an external perspective. And, I don't always rely on a professional help, I prefer confiding in with friends and try to know their perspective. For friends know your strengths and vulnerabilities and most importantly, they know what makes you happy. So confide and listen.


3. Try it out

No discovery was made without 100 mis-discoveries.

Until you do not venture out, try your hands at things that aspire and inspire you, you will not know what works for you and what not. Although I have not, but be calculative in your trials, bring in the insights from point 1 and 2 and then go out, work hard in each of the trials and hopefully one day you will get your stable state.


Being in the same boat, I am trying to push myself to my basics these days, meeting up with friends and trying my hands on things that inspire me, in a hope of one day i will be lucky enough to be a better collection of atoms, in my stable state and doing what i love.

Good luck!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page